What if i don’t know what I want to do with my life?

I went to the supermarket this morning. I was really hungry.

What do I want for breakfast? Salty? Sweet?

Something light and quick or something filling?

Eggs and toast, maybe with an avocado sliced on top? Bean tacos? A cup of coffee and a hearty cookie? A muffin? Maybe chai and fruit!

I really, really want something, but I don’t know what.

A woman is standing in front of me drinking a chocolate protein drink. I ask her if it’s good.

It’s the most delicious protein shake I’ve ever had, she says.

I grab one, open it and take a big slug. As a food lover, I never would have thought “I want a protein shake” but it’s creamy and thick and satisfying and I feel like my whole body is thanking me for choosing just what I needed.

This is what life is like.

I don’t know what I want.

Instead of feeling angst about this, which makes me feel inadequate, nervous, fearful, stressed, closed off, I have learned that not knowing what I want is a gift, not a curse.

It keeps me receptive, open and ready to welcome the perfect thing.


 

 

Source: Dushka Zapata on Quora

Leave a Reply

