1% a Day

FIRST:

You’re going to get what you want but first I have to tell you something.

Everything you’ve ever done up to this moment, has gotten you here. So if you want to change, you’re going to have to do everything different.

SECOND:

It’s not your fault. Don’t think it is.

THIRD:

Everything you’ve done has been the result of your masters programming you: genetic code, education code that’s 200 years old, parental, religious, cultural codes. Your peers that have manipulated you into conformism.

Perhaps bosses. Perhaps romantic partners. Teachers. Friends. Everyone you’ve ever encountered.

They aren’t to blame either. They are doing what they’ve been told to do. But they are the ones who have shoveled the s**t into your brain to get you to this point.

FOURTH:

But don’t worry. You can change that in a matter of seconds.

I was thrown out of school. I lost at everything I tried to do when I was younger. I lost ten jobs in a row. I gave up on so many things.

But now I do whatever I want to do and I’m happy. I’m not saying this to brag because it was very painful along the way.

I’m saying this because you can avoid the pain. It’s not so hard. I made it hard for myself because I kept believing all the people I described above.

You have to understand why these people did the things they did. Try to control you in the ways that kept you down.

Part of it is their insecurity. It’s happier for them if you are kept low or at least if you march in rhythm with them.

Part of it is power. Parents want to have power of you. Teachers are training you to be slaves of future bosses. An educational system is trying to whip your brain into believing their version of history is correct.

Whether it is or isn’t doesn’t matter. Because here you are.

All of these people, institutions, companies, governments, romantic partners, schools, peer groups, religions, etc have one goal: to make themselves happy. Not you.

I wish I had known this when I was 20 years old.

FIFTH:

So let me tell you the one thing that finally broke me out of the prison that everyone else had created for me.

One secret: Look at what all of these people are focused on. How to control you.

Let’s make it even simpler. They are all focused on: YOU.

So what is the one thing you can do to make your life completely different than what it is now?

Don’t focus on you anymore. Focus on them.

Everything you do, focus on others and how it will benefit others.

This doesn’t mean do anything they want. They don’t know what they want. They only want to control you. Don’t resist them because they will not pay attention. Like I said, they don’t know what they want.

So you have to become on your own, the sort of person who will change peoples lives. I’m going to tell you what I did. It worked for me. Maybe it will work for you. I don’t know.

DO THIS:

The 1% Compounding effect.

Physical: Every day, do something that will make you 1% healthier than the day before.

Emotional: Every day, improve your relationships 1% with the five people who are the most positive in your life.

Mental: Every day, do something 1% more creative than the day before. If this seems hard, take out a piece of paper and a pencil. Write down ten ideas a day.

Spiritual: All this means is: find something difficult to be grateful for. A problem in your life that you never thought you could be grateful for. I call this: “solving a difficult gratitude problem”.

1% compounded for a year is 3800% in ONE YEAR. You will be 37 times better physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. 1% a day is not difficult. You can start it today.

You will be a force of nature. You will help, amaze, astonish, and be charismatic to everyone in your path.

It will not longer be about them putting you down and keeping you 1% lower every day.

It will be about you flourishing. You are a pebble being thrown into a vast and unbelievable ocean. You will send ripples to every shore in the world.


 

Source: James Altucher on Quora.

Leave a Reply

